Capuchin Franciscan Order

About the Capuchin Franciscan Order

The Capuchin Franciscan Order began as a reform of the Franciscans in 1528. The Capuchins live vows of Poverty, Chastity, and Obedience. They live in community, combining contemplative prayer with apostolic ministry, as did Saint Francis of Assisi. Today there are seven provinces of Capuchins in the continental United States and other provinces around the world.

In the 1870′s, Capuchins from Bavaria and Westphalia, Germany, sank their roots in what is now the Province of Mid-America. This province was established in 1977, serving Colorado, Kansas, Missouri, most of Illinois, and missions in Puerto Rico, Papua New Guinea, and Mexico. Its nine stateside friaries are located in Denver and Colorado Springs, Colorado; and Hays, Victoria, and Lawrence, Kansas. The ministries in the province include parishes, high school and university campus ministries, home-building, nursing, fraternity service, preaching, spiritual direction, working with Franciscan Sisters and Secular Franciscans, nursing homes, homeless shelter, ministry with Hispanics and Native Americans, teaching and counseling at seminaries, Confession ministry, and hospital chaplaincy.

More Information

At Saint John the Evangelist Church in Lawrence, Father John Schmeidler, O.F.M. Cap., is pastor and Father Curtis Carlson, O.F.M. Cap., is Assistant Pastor. Men who have questions about Capuchin life may call either of them at 785-843-0109.

You can also learn more by visiting the Capuchin Franciscan Friars | Province of Mid-America website.

Related Links